Types of Insurance Coverage
Auto Owners Insurance
If you own a car, truck, SUV, or need motor vehicle with 4 or more wheels you must carry Auto insurance in the state of Florida. This list will provide you with the steps you must take:
Florida Driver License. Your plan is to register a car in Florida, great! the first thing you need is a valid Florida ID. If you have just moved to Florida from another state “WELCOME”, NOW have your old license transferred over.
Get a Florida driver’s license. This part will not be fun but it must be done. The sooner the better. You will need to go to the Florida Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicle. You will want and need a Florida driver’s license (or Non-Driver ID). If you are licensed in another state, you will not have to take the written or driving tests to get a Florida license. By Florida law, you have 30 days after filing the Declaration of Domicile to get a Florida driver’s license, Secret #1 (you can get a Florida license with or without this declaration).
Bring your out-of-state license to your local Florida Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles.
An identify document is a must, an original or certified copy of your birth certificate.
A US Passport, or a Certificate of Naturalization.
Your Social Security card, a W-2 or pay stub.
Provide two documents that prove your Florida address.
A mortgage deed, Florida car registration or recent utility bills are the most commonly but go to the FDHSMV for other acceptable document, but most things with your new address should suffice.
If you don’t intend to drive, you need to get a Non-Driver ID card. This is the same exact process as getting a Driver’s License (without any tests, of course).
Keep in mind you can still register a car in your name if you only have a permit, but you have to be at least 18 years old.
Florida Auto Insurance
Florida law requires you must have car insurance. Florida allows some of the lowest car insurance requirements in the Country. The purchase of a minimum amounts of coverage for both personal injury protection (PIP) insurance and property damage liability (PD) car insurance is all that is required.
Florida is a no-fault insurance state. If you are injured in an accident, your car insurance will pay your medical costs up to your policy’s limits, regardless of who caused the accident.
The minimum limits for Florida car insurance coverage are:
- $10,000 of no-fault or personal injury protection (PIP) insurance.
- $10,000 of property damage liability (PD) insurance.
Personal Injury Protection
In addition to covering your part of any medical expenses and income loss that result from a car accident, your Personal Injury Protection, or PIP coverage will also cover:
- Your child and other members of your household.
- Your child (when he or she is riding on a school bus).
- You (when you are a pedestrian or bicyclist involved in a car accident).
- Passengers in your car who do not have their own PIP insurance and do not own a car.
Anyone in your car who has PIP car insurance will be covered by his or her own policy if you get in a car accident. Likewise, your PIP car insurance will cover you while you are a passenger in someone else’s car.
Property Damage Liability
Property Damage (PD) auto insurance in Florida will cover you for damages you cause in a car accident to someone else’s property, such as homes or buildings.
Optional Car Insurance in Florida
While Florida law mandates the minimum amounts of coverage you must purchase, you always have the option of purchasing higher amounts of coverage on your property injury protection and property damage liability coverage.
Also, for those looking for more comprehensive coverage, most Florida car insurance companies will offer the following types of optional coverage:
- Comprehensive – This coverage will pay for damages to your car that do not result from accidents, e.g., scratches to your car’s paint due to vandalism.
- Collision – This coverage will pay for accident-related damages to your car.
- Towing and labor.
- Uninsured/underinsured motorist – This coverage will pay for damages incurred by incidents with drivers who do not have insurance.
- Rental car coverage.
NOTE: While comprehensive and collision coverage policies are not required by Florida law, your lender will require you to purchase both if you are financing your car.
Bodily Injury Liability
One of the major reasons that Florida requires no-fault car insurance is to protect FL drivers from being sued after an accident. However, if you get into an accident, there’s still a chance the victim(s) will sue you, especially if one or more victims suffers severe injury or if there is a fatality.
To help cover you in these cases, you can get Bodily Injury Liability (BI) car insurance in Florida. If you have BI coverage and you are found responsible for an accident, this coverage helps to pay for injuries to the victims of that accident, up to the coverage limits of the policy.
Bodily injury liability coverage will even help pay for the cost of a lawyer if you are sued after an accident.
When a vehicle is purchased or gifted the State Law demands it must be properly registered. This may be the most time consuming part of the process.
If you owner a vehicle we will outline the minimum required coverage’s must include two to protect your investment and yourself in the event your vehicle is stolen or involved in an accident. Whether or not your vehicle is financed, it is never a good idea to leave it, and yourself, vulnerable to financial loss. Let the people at Compare Insurance Quality help you find the perfect policy for you. Call us and we will use our access to hundreds of auto owner’s insurance companies to find the policy that exactly fits your needs.
Many states require that drivers carry a minimum of liability insurance, although some states do not. Even if your state does not have any requirement for liability insurance, you, as a driver, are still responsible for any accident that your vehicle in involved in, whether or not you were driving at the time. If your vehicle is stolen you face financial loss and maybe even the inability to replace it. It just never makes sense to drive, or even park or store your vehicle without having it insured. I once knew a young woman whose father gave her a new car that was totally paid off. She chose not to insure her car, thinking that was not reason to since she did not owe anything on it. This was wrongheaded for several reasons, not the least of which was that she lived in a state with mandatory minimum auto insurance requirements. She certainly had no business being on the road and running the risk of being in an accident where she or another person might be injured or even killed. In a word, it could have ruined her life due to legal bills she would be responsible for. As it turned out, her car was stolen about a week after she got it from her father. No insurance, no car. Luckily, a week after this, her car was recovered due to the fact that the thief was a local kid seeing an opportunity for a bit of “fun”. She was lucky and she learned first hand the value of carrying auto insurance. She turned to the independent agents at Compare Insurance Quality to find the perfect auto owner’s insurance policy at an affordable price. Unless you are driving a car with little value that can be replaced easily, you should never carry only the minimum liability insurance on your vehicle. It is also important to carry collision and even comprehensive insurance. The Insurance Information Institute recommends that you carry $100,000 per person medical, and $300,000 per accident or, 100/300 insurance on all your vehicles. Check out their site here http://www.iii.org for information and recommendations on auto owner’s insurance, or simply call us at Compare Insurance Quality!
Auto Insurance Liability
Automobile liability insurance is the insurance that pays when we cause damage to others. This can take the form of bodily injury, loss of life, or property damage. Whether or not the state you live in requires it, or whether the state you live in has low liability minimum requirements, it is still you responsibility under the law to be financially responsible if your vehicle is involved in an incident where others are harmed. When we think of car insurance comparison we tend to only think of quotes for the cost of the policy, but what about comparing the limits of liability that we should look for in a policy? What could it mean if you carried only a minimum amount of liability insurance and you caused damage to another with your vehicle? It would most certainly put your assets at risk and could result in costly court battles and lawyers fees. Compare Insurance Quality brokers will analyze your needs and make sure to recommend that you carry the right amount of liability insurance. This could even extend to the addition of an umbrella policy in addition to your auto policy, homeowner’s policy, and any other assets that you insure.
Since everyone’s needs for auto insurance quotes are different, and since it is important to determine auto insurance quote comparisons, Compare Insurance Quality makes it easy for you to get the best possible price and quality on auto insurance tailored just for you. Contact Compare Insurance Quality or call us for a quote today.